Automelodi- Automelodi CD **SOLD OUT**

$ 12.00

Sold Out

Wierd Records is proud to present the self-titled debut LP from Montreal's Automelodi. Lead by vocalist and songwriter Xavier Paradis who has long garnered a cult underground following with his solo minimal synth project Arnaud Lazlaud active in Canada since the late 90's, the band was formed in 2006 and is a welcome new addition to the international wing of the Wierd Records community in Brooklyn. Like labelmates Led Er Est and Frank(just Frank) Automelodi combines guitars with synthesizers and drum machines to create a truly idiosyncratic, cerebrally sophisticated, and elegantly composed album of modern minimal electronic music!

Highly unique for a North American band in 2010, Automelodi proudly embraces the infinitely rich ground of French pop musical influences - including the legendary ‘Chanteurs’ of the ‘60s and ‘70s, classic French cold wave(aka ‘La Vague Froide’) and minimal synth, and early UK new wave. The album carefully weaves together a series of hook-laden uptempo pop trax with with a set of stylishly confident, yet vulnerably melancholic downtempo songs that allow the listener to catch his misty breath in the mix, with nearly all vocals smoothly delivered in French. As is often the case within French literature, poetry, and pop musical history the freely associative, intuitive and often dreamlike play of language and the voice is of prime importance to the band. And indeed for the English-speaking listener in particular, the vocals function as an additional flowing and soaring instrument in the mix as well as a mysteriously mediating force that provocatively obscure the lyrical narratives at work, while carefully playing off of both the icily detached guitars and the warmly, organic electronics. An amazing balancing act it is, and negotiating this plethora of conflicting forces within the record is quite an exciting sonic event to experience...welcome to the world of Automelodi...

1. Schéma corporel [Clip]
2. Airline [Clip]
3. Rose A.D. [Clip]
4. Stylo-bille
5. Rayons de rien
6. Buanderie Jazz [Clip]
7. Rentrée 3007
8. Pression
9. Employé terne
10. Limite Malade [Clip]
11. S'rait bon d's'revoir*
12. L'Écran de fumée*

*CD-only bonus track

Also available via iTunes